My First Running Post–Three Things I Can Always Count On

For some time I have wanted to write about running. I am not quite ready to dedicate a blog site to the subject. So for now, I will try a few posts, tucked in between such titles as Mites Meet Maple-Crimson Velvet Erineum Galls, Mutualistic Symbiotic Relationships of the Maned Wolf and A Real Camp Treasure: Dog Vomit Slime Mold.

If you got through that last sentence without rapidly clicking off the site, thanks for sticking around! I guess that now I need to think of something to keep you reading.

Running is a a passion of mine, as I’m sure it must be for all those who have committed to going out each day and enduring biting cold, extreme heat, the dangers of distracted drivers, the aches and pains that crop up, as well as everything else that goes along with being dedicated to this activity.

From the start, there is so much I would like to say, but like each day’s workout, I need to focus and set a good pace.

I have been running for about three years now, and there are three things I can always count on:

First, I look forward to my time on the road each and every day. I never have to force myself to go on a run or talk myself into it. It’s what I want to do. I may prefer it when the skies are clear and my legs are feeling good, but even in the pouring rain (which is frequently the case in the Pacific Northwest) or when pain keeps me from doing my best, I still anticipate getting out and running.

I ran in the three inches of snow yesterday, and I couldn’t have been more thrilled. It was so quiet and peaceful, as the snow not only absorbed the sound but also the road shock, making me feel like I was almost floating along. No doubt, there were those who saw me going by and thought I was a bit strange, but there are people who are going to think that when they see a runner on a nice sunny day. It’s just part of the experience.

I did some running many years ago. I loved it back then as well. But there were also many times when I just had to force myself to cinch up the laces and go out the front door. So now that I am pushing mid-fifties, maybe I have a greater appreciation for the fact that I am even capable of getting out there at all. And I relish every moment!

The second thing I can always count on is that, I still think my legs are 20 years old before every run. Okay, so maybe I am slightly delusional.

Which brings me to the third thing I can always count on. As soon as I start to run, my legs remind me that I am no longer 20. I’m sure that most people over 45 know what I am talking about. And those not there yet will know eventually. So what do I do when this happens? Simple–I just tell my legs that I don’t really care what they have to say on the subject, and then I try to run like I am 20 anyway. Oh, great. He’s talking to his legs.

You are probably noticing by now that I can be a little stubborn, as well as dilutional (maybe add not too bright as well). This may be the case, but I submit to you that these attributes could be beneficial to running or any goal oriented activity. Those who reach their potential are the ones that have not set limits for themselves.

As a word of caution–I am not suggesting that you set unreasonable expectations for yourself. You don’t want to push yourself too hard and burn out after a couple weeks, or get injured by going beyond your capabilities. Train smart. But also be aware that there may be more in you than you realize. I think, for me, the miles of asphalt and hours of training could be, in part, about finding my potential and reaching it.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My First Running Post–Three Things I Can Always Count On

  1. I get plenty of exercise roaming through the woods and climbing hills and like you, I never have to force myself to do it. I also started bike riding last summer and really enjoy that as well.

  2. mariekeates says:

    My husband is a runner, training for his second marathon. He took it up after I started walking marathons. He said I inspired him but it think he just likes to be competitive. For me it’s walking, never really struggle to get out there unless there are gales and rain. Walking helps me forget that I too and pushing my mid fifties and gives me time to think. Great post :)

  3. I think you also have to watch your lower back and build up your resistance gradually, because the back as well as the hip, knee and ankle joints get the most friction when running. So after running it’s important to know if you have inflammation in any of those joints.

  4. skadhu says:

    I used to run recreationally (never to marathon lengths, just 5 to 10k regularly and once worked up to 14k for my part in a relay—and I ran slowly! the 14k took an hour and a half) but eventually had to stop due to an injury. Tried to get back to it but even with the slowest and most excruciatingly careful reintroduction (run 30 seconds…. walk 3.5 minutes…. repeat ad nauseum over two weeks and then add 30 seconds), injured myself again. Now I seem to have acquired chronic tendonopathy (sp?) in my achilles, so I doubt I could start again. Sigh. I miss it… and envy you.

Leave a Reply

