Stacked Stones at the Oregon Coast

I have always been an early riser, even while on vacation. So on a recent trip to the Oregon coast, I spent several hours each morning walking along the beach while everyone else was still getting their beauty rest. About two miles from our motel, I came across a stretch of shoreline dotted with stacks of rocks, some balancing in ways which seamed to defy the laws of physics.

I had never actually seen stacked stones before. I wondered what would drive someone to put such effort into something which might only last a couple days. I had to laugh at myself for even posing the question. How many sand castles have I  built on beaches similar to this, which were washed away by the tide shortly after they were completed.

Still I questioned whether or not there was any meaning to these sculptures or were they just a pile of rocks?

Did they symbolize tranquility or keeping a balance in one’s life? Was their construction some form of meditation? Did it have some spiritual significance? Perhaps it was more of a game, like building a sand castle or a leisure way to pass the time while enjoying the coast. Whatever the reason, there is no denying that this rock stacking took a steady hand, and a high degree of patience.

Surprisingly, these rocks stayed up for the entire week we were at the beach despite some high winds. These pictures were taken about two miles south of Haystack Rock in Cannon Beach, Oregon, one of the most photographed natural features in the state.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Catchall and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stacked Stones at the Oregon Coast

  1. If they are like the ones we found in Aruba, they are spiritual. Those were like a representation of momentous occasions and prayers.

    Like

  2. BTW …. BEAUTIFUL pics.

    Like

  3. seekraz says:

    Nice photos of the stones and the beach. I’ve seen some here in Utah stacked along the trails in the mountains…some smaller ones are obviously cairns marking the trail, but others are so very obviously not needed to mark direction, so I would guess that they are used to mark some spiritual significance to the area…maybe.

    Like

  4. The children in our family (well, and not just the children, actually!) like to stack stones off the coast of Maine. It’s a wonderful creative challenge.

    Like

  5. Miranti says:

    The Icelandic said said you make a wish and if your stack stayed, then your wish will be granted. I don’t remember much else because I stop asking. There are more and more in every places.

    Like

  6. Renee says:

    Great photos Rick, I’ve always wondered about the stacked stones as well. I cant say that I’ve ever seen anyone stacking them.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Trying my Hand at Stacking Stones | btweenblinks

Leave a Reply

