A Tiny Rock Collection

Like many, I had a rock collection as a kid. It was always exciting to go rock hunting and find a new specimen or two to put with the others. Although I am no longer an active collector, I still love to dig through the boxes or rocks I have accumulated over the years.

When I started the site, I had planned to include several posts about rocks and minerals, but up until now I just haven’t gotten around to it. So I guess this is as good as any time to include a little something about rocks.

For my first rock blog, I think I will focus on a specific segment of my collection. This group consists of a wide variety of different types of rocks. You may even find shells, beach smoothed glass and the occasional shark tooth among these rocks. So what defines this bunch of rocks as a group? They all have one thing in common. They are small. Too tiny to be displayed in a regular fashion. But put them together in a group, and enlarge them slightly, and they can be every bit as impressive as their larger counterparts.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Cabinet of Curiosities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Tiny Rock Collection

  1. montucky says:

    You bet they are impressive! What great colors!

    Like

  2. Shonnie says:

    very cool collection. I had one of those as a child, but I have none now. 🙂

    Like

  3. This sounds like a fun blogging project! In addition to the fabulous colors of rock collections, I’ve always loved their sounds (how they clink when they move around together in a box or when you run your hand through them), how they feel (they have so many interesting textures), and how the light strikes them. Two of my daughter’s first “big” words as a toddler were “translucent” and “opaque,” words she learned on one of her first rock hunts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

