Rock Lichens Revealed

On the first day of 2012, I took a walk in the woods behind my house for the express purpose of finding and photographing the local lichens which grew on the trees. Later that day I wrote and posted Discovering the World of Lichens.

The next morning I headed out to a park on the Columbia River about ten miles from my home. While cycling past this spot the week before, I noticed many large lichen encrusted rocks. This would be a good opportunity to compare the lichens which grew on trees and deadwood of a forest setting to those which lived on rocks in the open with little or no shade.

The wind was strong that morning, and rain clouds were rapidly heading toward me. I took some quick photos of rock lichens along with a couple nice mushrooms I had found. Just as the rains hit, I discovered some small yellow jellies. I did my best to get a couple shots of these as well. I hope to include the mushrooms and jellies on future posts.

As for the Lichens, I have decided to forgo the laborious process of trying to identify the varieties I show. The downside to this is that I won’t be able to share any of the always fascination details that each species inevitably possesses.

However, this allows me to approach this from a different perspective entirely. We sometimes get so caught up in the science of things, that we forget the miraculous nature of the living world. Yes, it is through science that we find out some truly amazing things. But science does not teach us how wondrous a butterflies wings look. This we have to discover on a personal level.

So, for the moment, if we can put aside the tendency to analyze, and just enjoy the astounding glimpse into this normally hidden world, maybe we would appreciate it that much more.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Catchall and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rock Lichens Revealed

  1. Finn Holding says:

    Hello Rick,

    Ouch! The analytical scientist in me is wincing now.

    But you’re absolutely right, it’s essential to forget the science sometimes and simply gaze in wonder at the beauty of nature.

    Another fine post. The air in your part of the world must be wonderfully fresh to allow such diversity of lichens. They are truly spectacular.

    Finn

    Like

  2. montucky says:

    I also enjoy seeing lichens and the variety of them. You seem to be in an area rich with them!

    Like

  3. Paula B says:

    Since I’m not a scientist by nature, I have the naive ability to enjoy the beauty first and ask questions (maybe!) later.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Freckle Pelt Lichens | btweenblinks

  5. SoundEagle says:

    Thank you for sharing these very good photos of lichens and mosses!

    Like

Leave a Reply

