Tiny Black Pearls: More Slime Mold

While exploring the living things which made their home on a rotting alder log, I came upon something new to me. It was patch of what I initially though to be miniscule mushrooms with black glossy caps.

After reviewing my photos on the computer, the enlarged screen images revealed details which led me to believe these were not fungi at all, but possibly a type of slime mold.

A little bit of research confirmed that they were slime mold, but so far I have not been able to make an exact identification. The nearly round sporangia are less than a millimeter in diameter with brownish red stalks.

In the photo below, the two fruiting bodies on the left have opened up, revealing spores.

To find out a little bit about slime mold, go to Orange Slime Mold.

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Fungi & Slime Molds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tiny Black Pearls: More Slime Mold

  1. You always manage to find the COOLEST things! I haven’t clicked on the link yet, but I am going to immediately. I love these pictures! Absolutely fascinating! I can’t wait to learn more.

    Like

  2. Shonnie says:

    I love how you stop to smell … the slime mold. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. I love your photos!

    Like

  3. seekraz says:

    There’s something almost unappealing about their appearance…but very compelling, too. Thank you for sharing your discovery. 🙂

    Like

  4. I think they’re beautiful things with an unfortunate name. Even though some slime molds are far from beautiful, these make me want to be in the woods.

    Like

  5. Finn Holding says:

    Great images Rick. Have the opened spore sacs dried out? I think some fungi use the drying process to split open the fruiting bodies in order to disperse the spores.

    Like

Leave a Reply

