Eyelash Cup Fungi

Each time I take a walk in the woods behind my house, I like to try and find at least one thing I have never seen before. This can be quite a challenge, because I have explored the area hundreds of times. When I went out yesterday, I only had a half hour; not much time. But as is often the case, nature tends to reveal the unexpected.

I was heading up a heavily shaded ravine when I spotted a small patch of earth bathed in sunlight. A break in the canopy allowed a brief window of late afternoon light to hit the spot. When I moved closer to investigate, I noticed three bright orange “dots” growing on a wet rotting log. Each dot was ringed with delicate hair-like structures. The largest of these dots was around a quarter inch in diameter. This was something I had never seen before. Success!

My discovery turned out to be Eyelash Cup Fungi, most likely Scutellinia scutellata. The eyelash fungi are generally found on decayed wet wood, but sometimes grow in damp soil.

After further examination of the nearby area, I was unable to find any other specimens. Even though they are small, the eyelash cup fungi are easy to spot due to their bright coloration. If there are more in the area, I will find them.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Fungi & Slime Molds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Eyelash Cup Fungi

  1. skadhu says:

    I’ve never seen these. Very cool!

    Like

  2. I’ll have to keep an eye out for those!

    Like

  3. You never cease to amaze me with your discoveries! I’m always so inspired by your posts. At first glance, these almost look like egg yolks, minus the eyelashes, of course 🙂 With that bright color, they certainly will be easy to spot! I’ll be going up to Maine next week, where I hope to find all kinds of wonderful things in the woods there.

    Like

  4. Amazing! I’ve never seen them before either (or never noticed, I’ll look for them now!).

    Like

  5. Finn Holding says:

    Good spot Rick, that’s a fungus I’ve never seen before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

