Frozen Willow Jellies

Ice on Willow Jelly I found these ice encrusted Willow Jelly Fungi in my back yard this morning. The fact that they were frozen is of little importance except that they made an interesting subject for my new Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX7 camera.

Yes, I have a long way to go before I can begin to utilize the camera anywhere near its potential, but learning is half the fun. The other half is exploring and finding little treasures like this willow jelly to photograph.

P1000035If you would like to know a little more about the willow jelly fungi (Exidia recisa), and see images of them in an unfrozen state, check out Willow Jelly Fungi.

P1000041

Gallery | This entry was posted in Fungi & Slime Molds, My Back Yard and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Frozen Willow Jellies

  1. Congrats on the new camera-I also have a new Lumix and have been having a lot of fun with it. I’ve been watching some frozen orange jellies that have finally thawed and look (and feel) normal again. I’ve never heard of willow jellies but saw some beautiful jellies one day that looked the color of cranberry sauce.

    Like

  2. Wonderful! I’m so glad you’ve taken the Lumix out! The ice encrusted Willow Jelly Fungi look like marvelous little alien creatures! I love them!

    Like

  3. Finn Holding says:

    Great shots Rick, these look like little frozen brains. I’m really looking forweard to seeing the results you get with your Lumix (I’ve heard good reports about them), particularly the fungi and lichens 🙂 .

    Like

Leave a Reply

