Naan Bread Pizza: A Delightful Change of Pace

I like making pizza from scratch (see Homemade Pizza can be a Memorable Event), but it is not always necessary to spend half a day in the kitchen to enjoy the taste of a fresh,  flavorful pizza.

When I found this recipe the other day, I just had to try it!

The crust is made of naan bread. This exquisite Indian flat bread is baked in an earthen oven called a tandoor. Naan bread is a great vehicle for scooping up sauces left on your plate while eating Indian food, but as I found out last night, it also makes a nice pizza crust.

This recipe features toppings such as goat cheese, pecans, dried figs and honey. Sounds yummy, don’t you agree?

This meal is not only extremely easy to make, it is also virtually mess free. This naan bread pizza is also an escape from the the usual, with ingredients not generally pared together. And it is delicious!

Since I did not create the recipe, I will refer you to Bohemian Kate, who came up with this marvelous idea. But before I do, I would like to add a few notes of my own:

Indian cuisine has gotten popular enough in recent years that you should be able to find naan bread in most of the large supermarkets. I chose to  purchase a slightly more expensive bread (made by Stonefire) which is more authentic and flavorful.

Although I prefer a good goat cheese, and did use it this time around (since we happened to have some on hand), I often substitute fetta cheese which is generally less expensive.

Another cost saving idea is to leave out the sweetner, agave nectar. I have never used agave because it is a bit pricey, but I am thinking the honey itself should sufficiently sweeten the pizza. If you are unsure, check with Kate. I am by no means an expert.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did. If you do try this pizza, maybe you could add your experience to the comment section of this site or to Kate’s Blog.

This entry was posted in Cuisine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Naan Bread Pizza: A Delightful Change of Pace

  1. Finn Holding says:

    Blimey RIck, that’s a combination I’d never have dreamt of myself! But I love Indian food and pizza so I reckon it will have to be tried!

    Like

Leave a comment